How Workers’ Compensation Works

Smiling Man Holding Pen

No matter where you work or what occupation you hold, you are always at risk of becoming injured. Not only does Illinois workers’ compensation protect you from financial harm due to work-related injuries or illnesses, it also prevents you from suing your employer.

If you’ve been injured or developed an illness due to work-related reasons, it’s a good idea to read up on how workers’ compensation works in the state of Illinois. Read on to learn more about the topic.

Crucial Deadlines

If you’re injured at work, you are only allowed a limited period of time in which you’re legally permitted to report your injury and file for workers’ compensation benefits.

In order to receive the maximum amount of benefits, you’ll need to report your injury to your employer within 45 days of your injury.

In addition, you have a three-year time limit for filing a claim with the Illinois Workers’ Compensation Commission.

Various Types of Benefits

Under workers’ compensation law, you are entitled to the following benefits if you become injured at work:

  • Medical treatment - this refers to any care you receive in order to cure or alleviate the impacts of your injury.

  • Temporary total disability - these benefits will compensate you if you are fully disabled from working for a limited time period.

  • Temporary partial disability - these benefits will compensate you if you recovering from your work-related injury but are still able to perform lighter duties for a reduced amount of compensation.

  • Permanent total disability - these benefits will compensate you if a doctor determines that you are permanently incapable of working.

  • Permanent partial disability - these benefits will compensate you if you experience permanent damage as a result of your working injury, even if you’re able to return to work.

  • Death benefits - these benefits will be paid out to your surviving family members in the event you are killed on the job or due to a work-related illness.

Employer Responsibilities

It is required by law for your employer to post a notice of workers’ compensation insurance somewhere in which you may easily identify and review it.

In addition, your employer is legally obligated to report your injury or illness to the Illinois Workers’ Compensation Commission after you’ve missed over three workdays.

How to Handle Your Workplace Injury

If you experience an injury or illness as a result of the work you conduct, it’s a good idea to seek medical care right away. In addition, you should let your employer know about your ailment as soon as possible.

You may inform your employer of your ailment orally or in writing, but it must be done within 45 days of the accident. In your statement to your employer, you should be sure to incorporate the relative date and location of the incident.

After you’ve missed three days of work due to your injury, it is required that your employer deliver an accident report to the Illinois Workers’ Compensation Commission as well as do one of the following:

  • Start payments to you for temporary total disability; or

  • Provide a written description of more information your employer needs; or

  • Provide a written description providing the reason(s) why your employer is denying your benefits

How to Handle a Denied Claim

If your workers’ compensation claim is denied, it’s a good idea to file a claim with the Illinois Workers’ Compensation Commission and inquire about a hearing. This must be done within three years of the date you became disabled or after two years from the date of your last payment, whichever comes last. You are responsible for proving your work-related injury to the Illinois Workers’ Compensation Commission.

We’re Here to Help

If you’ve experienced a work-related injury and you’d like to apply for workers’ compensation benefits, our attorneys at Turner Law Group are here to help. Having an experienced attorney on your side greatly reduces your chances of your claim being denied. Our team has the knowledge and resources you need for a successful claim. Don’t hesitate to contact our firm with your case right away.

Call Turner Law Group today at (800) 653-0198 to speak with an attorney about your case.

Related Posts
  • Illinois Supreme Court: Workers Comp Exclusive Remedy Provisions Don’t Apply to BIPA Claims Read More
  • 10 Tips for Preventing Workplace Injuries Read More
  • Do I Really Need a Lawyer For My Workers' Comp Claim? Read More